Pentium D dual core or AMD dual core laptop?

Status
Not open for further replies.

V8VENOM

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I've seen some (no one I'd consider reliable) companies advertising dual core laptops, but when I call and ask about them, they tell me they're not available yet??

What gives? Anyone got the scoop?

I have $2500 ready to spend on one.

Thanks, Rob.

V8VENOM

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I'm a software engineer and Visual Studio 2005 requires some good hardware and I develop CPU specific threaded applications so I need something with more than one CPU for the those times I'm on the road and coding.

Why do you ask?

DeathwingX

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2006
just wondering, i would advise differntly for gaming then aps such as thoughs, with that stuff i would sugest amd dual core, did a lil reseach and there X2 4800+ kicks intel outa the water, u might try alineware.com for something like that, dell might, but wouldnt trust them, so try alineware.com

if u want to look at comparisons of the cpus heres a link http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html
gives differnt benchmarks and differnt apps, such as multitasking, wheres amd comes out ontop in just about everyone, the only cpu i have seen by intel win in those kind of apps was the p4 EE, wich they dont have in laptop model, so theres my 2cents on it

bpgunning

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2006
Ok first off do not waste your time or money by going to alienware which I will explain in a minute.