Sign in with
Your question

P4 2.4c -- Do I need two memory chips for DDR?

Last response: in Memory
June 18, 2003 4:13:14 AM

I am new to DDR memory.. going to build a new pc with an Abit IS7, P4 2.4c , and either Kingston HyperX 3500 or Corsair XMS 3500. I want at least 512mb of memory and was just going to buy one 512mb stick. I have been reading some things about having to get two sticks of memory to make the system run in DDR mode or something. I didn't know you need two sticks of memory, I thought that only one stick would be fine. Could somebody please explain this DDR thing to me and let me know if I should get two 256mb sticks or just one 512mb stick. I will probably be overclocking this setup so I don't know if this makes a difference. Please explain so I get the fastest possible setup. And let me know what memory is the best for me and this setup.. thanks

More about : memory chips ddr

June 18, 2003 4:49:23 AM

* You've got two quality brands there but among the two listed I would choose the Corsair.

* For Dual Channel Mode, you'll need 2(preferred) or 4 modules. Else, it will run in Single Channel Mode which means less memory bandwidth and thus less performance.

<b><font color=blue>Logic over all.</font color=blue></b>
June 18, 2003 4:57:23 PM

DDR = Double Data Rate
Read <A HREF="http://www.corsairmicro.com/main/trg-ddr.html" target="_new">this</A>

Dual-channel memory involves 2 memory channels on your board.
<A HREF="http://postnuke.legend.com.au/postnuke/modules.php?op=m..." target="_new">This</A> may help, too.

<A HREF="http://www.phototalk.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=339..." target="_new">My phototalk gallery</A>
<font color=blue>War</font color=blue> <font color=orange>Eagle</font color=orange>
Related resources
a b } Memory
June 20, 2003 2:31:12 AM

OK, first lets get a few terms down:
DDR means Double Data Rate, as in 2x transfer mode.
QDR means Quad Data Rate, as in 4x transfer mode.