Sign in with
Your question

Buying a laptop, appreciate any tips or advice.

Tags:
Last response: in Laptops & Notebooks
June 11, 2006 7:37:40 AM

Basically i'm new to laptops. :oops:  I've built alot of desktops that have worked well, but have just started researching laptops and looking into the new hardware available :x . I am a huge gamer, so performance is a must, and i favor nVidia and AMD over intel or ATI. I would like a system that does well on today's games, is 64 bit compatible, and is going to run games like UT 2007 when they come out. As well if there are any retailers that upgrade systems for cheap when new parts are available i would like to know. I have looked at a few systems closely such as Alienware's M9700 and the XPS m1710, at the moment i am considering the m1710, partially because of the long wait for alienware to ship and the many horror stories i've read about faulty alienware systems in the last couple of days. :roll:

Some of my main questions are:
- With the new intel processors coming, i think i will hold off on buying anything with a core duo in it, however due to my love for AMD, is it really worth waiting or is it safe to buy a AMD powered system?
-I've read alot of discussion on how small the 17" 1920X1200 resolution makes fonts etc. if someone is in possession of such a system, or has pics, i wouldn't mind seeing them for myself just to get an idea of how bad it really is.
-SLI or single card? Currently i've been looking at the 7900 series and am wondering if SLI really is better then say the single card 7900GTX, and as well if anyone has any fps scores comparing the 7900GS 256(non SLI) and 7900GTX 512 i would be very gratefull as my searches have come up with nothing.

All suggestions and tips are appreciated! PS my budget is about 3000 dollars.(canadian lol)