Uninstall Windows 8

AS85

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2009
I just bought an Acer Aspire V3-771G - the hardware is solid but the OS is not. I want to install Win 7 on a new SSD. I've read that drivers need to be updated but I've never done a clean install before. Does anyone know a step by step resource?

Really your best bet would be to get use to Windows 8. The only thing that has really changed is the Start Menu and if given even half a chance you will find that it is easier and faster than Windows 7 ever was. There might be a small learning curve. The biggest problem is alot of Windows 8 based PC's are designed for Windows 8 and may not take Windows 7 very well if at all.

I really do not understand what people have against Windows 8 given how easy it is to use. Finding any app or game is so much easier searching is easier and running games and apps are at least on my rigs faster than Windows 7. And Windows 8 is a very solid OS!

However Acer does have all the drivers you would need for Windows 7 x64 on there site so if you really need to downgrade your system just download at least the network drivers and put them on a USB stick. That way you can install those after you downgrade and get online to get the rest of the drivers and such you need. There are plenty of how-to's online that can walk you though the actual process but in a nutshell you will need to boot from your DVD or USB stick that has Windows 7 on it and then the installer should walk you though the rest of it. Good luck but please consider getting used to Windows 8 it is really a solid OS that has a lot going for it

AS85

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2009
I completely disagree - Win8 is great for a touch interface for a tablet or phone but not for a laptop. I think they've got the Apple bug - they want to be hip and cool but people don't buy Windows to be cool - they do it to get work done. I'm willing to bet Win9 will revert back to the familiar interface - I can't see any business using this OS.