Introduction, and sound question!

Matthias

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2003
Hi there,

I'm new here. My name is Matthew, I'm 19 years old, and from New Zealand. Anything else you want to know about me, you are welcome to ask, but I do have the URL of my MSN Messenger profile in my details.

I've had a computer for 8 years, (probably not nearly as long as most of the people here!), so I'd like to think I have some knowledge and may be able to help people here in the future, but I do have one quick question.

At my part time job, a Xbox was set up a few weeks ago, and I must say, wow! Anyway, the sound was said to have 256 channels, a huge increase on the 4 channels in my embedded VIA sound card! I've never heard some amazing sound.

Anyway, I was just wondering if any PC sound cards exist that have 256 audio channels, (I'd hate to think a console has a better sound card than is available for the PC!), and if so, what are some names you can give me?

I have seen a Creative Sound Blaster Audigy advertised here in New Zealand for $55.00 US, and a Creative Sound Blaster Live! for $50.00 US. Can these produce the awesome sound quality of the Xbox?

On an off topic, I just purchased a Powercolor Radeon 9100. The ATI Radeon 9000, 9000 Pro and 9200 are mentioned on the ATI website, but not the 9100. Is this because the 9100 is the only card listed above that isn't "built by ATI", and is only available through third parties?

I was actually tossing up between the ATI Radeon 9000 Pro, ATI Radeon 9200, Powercolor Radeon 9100, and MSI Geforce FX 5200, - all the same price range. Did I make the right choice in terms of image quality, speed, and value for money?

Apologies for all of the questions, comments, and babbling! I won't make a habit of it, it's just great to finally come across such a great computing website and community.

Cheers,

Matthew.

For people who like peace and quiet - a phoneless cord.

jheine

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2002