Acer Laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lee1978

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2006
8O
I'm looking to buy a laptop. As I've never owned one before I could do with some help. It will be used mostly to edit images using Photoshop (I'm a photographer).

My budget is £700. I've been looking at the Acer series of laptops, specifically the Acer Aspire 5612WLMi.

The spec is as follows:
Intel Centrino Core Duo Processor T2300 1.66GHz
512MB DDRII SDRAM
60GB Hard Drive
DVD Super Multi Dual Layer Drive - To read DVDs and CDs and write CDs, DVD+, DVD-, large Dual Layer DVD and DVD-Ram
15.4" XGA Widescreen TFT Screen with CrystalBrite
Intel 945GM shared graphics
4 USB 2.0 Sockets
Integrated LAN and 56k v.90 data fax modem
Integrated wireless 802.11 a/b/g LAN - Call for advice on Wireless networking
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Pre Loaded
FREE Microsoft Works
2.5-hour Battery Life
Weight 2.89kg

With VAT & delivery this will cost £637.59.

If I upgrade the RAM to 1GB and take a 3 yr warranty it would cost £696.54.

I would like to know what people think about the spec in relation to price and any other comments you may have.

Thanks in advance.

Lee

mobileT

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2006
Well, let's see... that's about $1211 (including tax and delivery).

How much are they charging for the RAM upgrade, and how will it be configured? Is it going to be one 1GB module or two 512MBs?

Second, what are the RPMs of the hard drive that you'd be getting? 4200 is too slow. 5400 *may* be OK. 7200 would be best. It's not always easy to get the 7200RPM in many consumer notebooks off of the retailers' shelves.

Additionally, the Apple MacBook is lauded for its performance with Photoshop. Have you considered this machine? I don't know much about Macs or their cost.

killernotebooks

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006
First, Killer Notebooks ships ALL OVER THE WORLD, so check us out.