PC-2700 vs PC-3200 mem. for 333 FSB

apilgrim

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2003
I understand there would be little benefit (possibly less latency if the memory is underclocked?) to using PC-3200 memory on a 333 FSB setup. However, I also plan on upgrading to a faster processor in the future and running @ 400 FSB. Anyone have any advice on wether I should go ahead and buy PC-3200 memory or just go with PC-2700 memory that would be in synch with a 333 FSB setup and buy PC-3200 memory when/if I start running a processor @ 400 FSB?

Any comments would be appreciated - and please try to keep things simple as I am a dumb person (just kidding, but I am a newB so please forgive me in advance).

Someone basically asked this same question in a post right after I posted this one. The answer was that the PC-3200 memory could be underclocked. Is this a good solution, any drawbacks? Also, I will be using a Barton (2500+) at first that runs @ 333 FSB but I hear this is easily overclocked... easily overclocked to 400? The mobo is a MSI K7N2 Delta-ILSR.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by apilgrim on 07/12/03 11:31 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

xeenrecoil

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2003
heya Apilgrim;

Since PC 2700, and pc3200 are approx the same price go ahead and buy the pc3200, for the obvious reason that you yourself stated, you will be upgrading to 400FSB CPU in the future...

As for OverClocking your processor to 400FSB...good luck, you will need liquid cooling OR BETTER to achieve that much of an OC and be perfectly stable.

XeeN

apilgrim

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2003
Your response (thank you by the way, I'll probably follow that advice) brought up some more questions... I'm asking more out of curiosity than practicality:

I would still like to know if there are ANY drawbacks whatsoever to running PC3200 with a FSB @ 333?