Does lighning/thunder storm outside really damage

JimmyDean

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2003
I had a super nintendo go crazy because of lightning. I was playing, then the screen got kind of green and jarbled then I heard thunder. It was repaired by a local shop for like 45 though, so not that big.

<i>Royal Fusileres, Company C</i>

Auburn9698

Champion
Lightning damages equipment when it travels through phone, electrical, or other lines. That's what surge protectors are for. A number of people I know have had equipment damaged that wasn't surge protected. Don't imagine you're going to see much damage from thunder.

<A HREF="http://www.phototalk.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=3394&ppuser=663" target="_new">My phototalk gallery</A>
<font color=blue>War</font color=blue> <font color=orange>Eagle</font color=orange>

zemuron

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2003
I have a surge master II but I'm not sure how it works. There's a green light called "Protected" and then there's a red light called "Grounded". When the surge master II is on both of those lights come on. So does that mean I'm protected from lighning? Or do I have to but my surge master II to off to cut off electricity that goes to my components?

kinetic_tw

Distinguished
May 29, 2003
Surge protectors can work in a bunch of different ways, depending on what quality you have. The most basic simply have a fuse that'll blow when overloaded. Others use circuitry to limit all voltage, thus eliminating any major spikes. The more advanced units contain AC line filters that stabilize your power all around, and prevent spikes in the process.

Keep in mind though, power cords arent the only way for electrical surges to travel. It's suggested that you have ALL of your external wiring (power, cable, phone, etc.) go through a surge suppressor of some sort.