Flashing Underscore on Boot

Gawin

Honorable
Jun 30, 2012
Hi. Recently I got this problem on my Acer Aspire 5742G where my laptop gets stuck on black screen with a flashing underscore at the top left corner right after the Acer splash screen. I can get into Bios but I can't get into safe mode (normally I could press F8 to get into Advanced Boot Options but this no longer works).

The problem started when I decided to try out Windows 8 Preview a few days ago. I managed to set up dual boot windows 7 home premium/windows 8 preview and it worked fine. But I only gave 20GB to the windows 8 partition and I decided I needed more. Being a total newb to partitioning, I thought it's a simple matter to transfer space by shrinking the volume of the win7 partition, format the new unallocated space and extend the volume of the win8 partition. But after I did this, all the partitions apart from the recovery one became "simple partitions" instead of "primary partitions". I don't know the difference between the two terms and I didn't think it was a problem so I just turned off the laptop once I finished with it. The next time I turned it on the problem started. Could this have caused problems with the hard drive? It's the only thing I can think of that caused the problem.

But more importantly how do I go about fixing this? Unfortunately I can't find my recovery disc either. :(

Primary partitions are bootable, simple partitions are not. There are a finite number of bootable partitions on old partitioning schemes but this has changed with new hardware and OS support.

If you do not have a recovery disk you can download a Windows installation ISO that can be burned to a DVD from here

http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/software-os/w/microsoft_os/3316.2-1-microsoft-windows-7-official-iso-download-links-digital-river.aspx