Dual Chan fails mem test, passes 1 stick at a time

GQsm

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2003
I am quite new to this and I have read quite a lot of threads on here and other forums without luck (I saw a similar thread on here but the problems seemed different).

I have just bought a new system including the following components
Antec Truepower 430
MSI K7N2 Delta-ILSR
XP2800 Barton fsb333
2 x elixir 512mb DDR pc3200 RAM
Seagate Barracuda V 120GB SATA hdd

I put all components above in the system including a GeForce 3 grfx card, floppy, cd rom etc

Bios settings mostly default or auto except fsb changed to 166. RAM was recognised at 400

I tried to install win2k straight onto the brand new SATA hdd. Every time it would blue screen at some point while copying the files over.

After many hours I removed 1 stick of ram to see if 1 stick was faulty and managed to get an installation up and running. As soon as I put the other stick back in, the system would blue screen at random points during OS startup with various errors.

I got a bootable floppy running docmemory and tested all combinations of 1 stick at a time in each slot, then both together in different slots. 1 stick at a time the test said RAM was fine.
Together with one stick in DDR1 and one in DDR2(single channel on my Mboard) system would simply stop while going into "booting from floppy" stage.
Together with one stick in DDR1 and one in DDR3 system (dual channel) and then one in DDR2 and one in DDR3 (dual channel) RAM fails memory test.
Errors came up on both when at the burst test. I repeated these a few times each to make sure (each set of tests takes 20mins :( ). I cant remember if the error on the first dual channel combination was exactly the same as the second because I didn't record the exact values on the first one. The second combination gave the following RAM test error.

Burst.......FAIL
Addr:(111M), Exp.: 0F0F0F0F, Act.: 0F0FF00F