Approx. setup time to migrate workgroup to Server 2008 r2

dookie67

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2010
For those who do this on a regular basis: How much time can I expect to bill a client for a Win Server 2008 R2 install / migration from a workgroup of 20 desktops and 15 laptops, 2 wireless routers, 9 printers, SonicWall firewall, removal of hubs and install of 48 port switch. Server is stand-alone DS, DHCP, DNS, AD, file, and internet sharing. I know there are a lot of variables, but looking for ballpark hours. I've been an IT pro for many years but my last server install was W2K Server in 2001 shortly after I completed the MCSE course. I am in the middle of he migration and wondering how much time I need to 'absorb' in order to be fair to both me and them. Thanks in advance.

dookie67

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2010
OK, right now I have 50 man-hours in and all hardware swapped out, the domain is functional, wireless is up, network drives work, most of the computers are attached, AD populated, DHCP and DNS working, and initial policy in place. Seemed to go pretty good except for printers - 32 bit client drivers on a 64 bit server issue. Seen a lot on the web, but can't seem to find a resolution that works. Probably another 10 hours will get this domain to a manageable state. This seems OK to me. I can't find any approximations online since there are so many variables. Break it to me easy, is this too much time (and I'm a slacker or just getting to old for this) / too little time (and I can expect problems in the future) / or just about on track? Any takers?

riser

Illustrious
As a single tech doing this, you're doing fine. It depends on how indepth you want to go with policies and what the requirements are.

DNS is configured when your promo a 2k8 server to a DC. Default GPO will be in place. I'm guessing you probably manually connected the printers and didn't use print management. That's fine, that'll take some extra time.