Virus shuts down computer before protection software can get rid of it

Status
Not open for further replies.

keri22421

Honorable
Jul 18, 2012
How do I isolate or get rid of a virus that shuts the computer down before the virus protection software can get rid of it?

Solution
Restored to a previous date but problem persists. Tried it in Safe mode and it isolated and removed the "threat" but when I rebooted it was back again. No idea where to go from here.
are you seeing pop ups or is your antivirus reporting a virus. let me know what the name of the prorgram that is poping up is called (ie antivirus 2012) or what name your antivirus is giving it and i will be able to give you step by step directions.

because ther are many types of virus there is no simple one tool answer.
(ie polymorphic, multipartite, phage....ect)

Blahman11

Distinguished
May 23, 2011
Now I have little experience on viruses as I haven't had many. You could try and delete where the virus resides on the hard drive but it probably hides itself. You could try using system restore to restore it back to the time before you got the virus. It'll still be there but will be 'neutralised' and not work (worked with a virus I got that couldn't be deleted by the antivirus). If that fails try and back up what you can and wipe the drive. That's a bit heavy handed but it'll get rid of it

neieus

Distinguished
Simply start the computer in safe mode, disable system restore and run the scan or remove the virus that way. Running in safe mode allows windows to run with the minimal system drivers needed which means the virus won't be able to start. Once you have cleaned your system you can restart in safe mode again to scan your files and once you are sure the virus is gone start the system normally and enable system restore again if you use it. If you run in to problems removing the virus itself post information on that virus in the chat so we can assist.

keri22421

Honorable
Jul 18, 2012