rpshadow

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2003
Newbie here but know my stuff overall. Not sure if this question has been asked before. I am building a hardwood desk (mission style) for my office. I want to make the desk hollow so I can lay out the various components flat, then close the top of the desk. CD Trays, buttons, heat monitors and fan control would be recessed in the front, fans would suck and blow from the sides. Power supply would be in it's own area inside the desk. My two questions are, even if I monitor temp and get enough fans, will heat be an issue? (assume p4HT/MSI NEO2/400W) Also, how do I effectively ground the components? Do I only need to ground the mobo? If so, do I need several grounding points, or can I just rip out the part of a PC case that the Mobo is screwed into and just ground that. Thanks in advance. Sorry for such a silly topic.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
A good place to start with a project like that would be a removable motherboard tray. Compgeeks has an older case for around $10 that has a good removable tray. Simply remove that tray, cut the back of your drawer for the backplate, and screw it in.

If you plan out the ventilation well, cooling should not be a problem. You'll hear people speak against wood, but that really doesn't matter with good airflow.

Since you don't want a noisy desk, I'd recommend you mount your fans on rubber isolators and use large low speed units.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

pIII_Man

Splendid
Mar 19, 2003
do mobos need to be grounded? I have run many mobos out of the case on peices of cardboard...i don't think you need to worry about how to properly ground your mobo...

If i put my k6 in a Ferrari it would be faster than your your pentium 4 or Athlon XP :tongue:

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff