Case Cutting

Kabome

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2003
I was planning on adding a window to my case and was wondering about the clearance recommended on cutting. I want to make the window as large as possible but I don't want to cut too close to the edge to effect clearing of the slide-in case panel runners as well as structure of the side panel. The last thing I need is the panel folding in half on me before I put the window in.

I have a picture of my current markings <A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/kabome/markings.html" target="_new">here</A>. Tell me what you think about the space, or if you have another recommended way of adding the windows, or any experiences/opinions would be appreciated in this area as this is my first attempt at such a thing :smile:

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Gee, I thought you wanted a BIG window, that looks fine as long as you're carefull with cutting.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

Kabome

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2003
I dunno, I was just trying to be careful, my case is not the largest either. These were the dimensions I was going to get for the acrylic, so the cut would actually be larger than that.

Oh and also, what tool do you recommend is best... besides a dremel, like which workshop tool is a good one, if I were to not do it myself, as I have some relatives who could probably be more skillful at doing sheet metal work than myself.

pIII_Man

Splendid
Mar 19, 2003
you have sexy toes :smile:

At automotive shops they sell air compressor powered cut off tools...that are like a big air powered dremal...it would probably get the job done much faster and quicker than a dinky dremal drill...

If i put my k6 in a Ferrari it would be faster than your your pentium 4 or Athlon XP :tongue:

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff