How likely is it for HDD to crash in RAID 0

JizZ

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2003
Im planning to set my system up with two Maxtor 80GB 8mb SATA drives running in RAID 0, but everywhere I read I see people talking about how risky it is when you can lose your data if one HDD fails.

What I would like to know is how likely is that to happen? I mean, does one drive have to physically stop working in order to lose the data, or can it happen with something as simple as a power blackout or not shutting down properly? I'll mainly be using the system for gaming so wont really have anything important anyway, I just dont want to have to re-install my system twice a month.

Thanks

smitbret

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2002
A HDD is no more likely to crash in a RAID 0 setup than when it's used as a single drive. The problem is that there are two drives that could fail instead of one. If you lose one drive, you lose all of the data on both drives. I've been using RAID 0 setups for about 2 1/2 years and never had a drive fail, yet. They're fine for most uses, but if you have absolutley critical data that you can't afford to lose, make a back-up (something you should be doing anyway).
-Brett

lhgpoobaa

Illustrious
Dec 31, 2007
Looking at it from PURELY a statistical point the probability is 2x the chance of one plus the chance of both at the same time... But when the math is done it comes out as being pretty close to 2 times the risk of one drive dying.

In reality though there are ltos of other factors. If you do regular backups of critical data you should be ok.
If you want the raid array for critical data though it might be better doing a RAID1, RAID0+1 or a RAID5 for data security.

<b>My Car comes with Hyper Threading enabled:
1970 General Motors Holden HT Kingswood Wagon :smile:
Regards,
Mr no integrity coward.</b>

siranthony

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2001