Sign in with
Your question

Audigy 2 OEM vs Audigy 2 Retail

Last response: in Components
August 18, 2003 7:01:25 AM

Hi everybody... I am going to purchase an audigy 2 card in 2-3 days. However I am a bit hesitant about two alternatives. I can buy the OEM version for $75 and the retail version for about $110-115... There is a difference of $35-40 and I am a graduate student so I don't have much money as well.

I don't mind about the bundled software comes with the retail box. The driver CD is enough for me.

I saw the photos of both cards, and realized that the OEM version has plastic connectors despite the retail version has gold ones. Does it affects the sound quality ?

I also heard that the driver updates usually causes problems with the OEM version of Audigy 2...

Well, If the main difference is the bundled software, I'll go for the OEM version. But if the differences are hardware related and serious, I'll wait for a month to make $120, then buy the retail version...

I'm looking for feedback by both OEM and retail Audigy 2 users. I'd be so grateful, If you could help me. Thanks in advance...
August 18, 2003 9:13:07 AM

Sound quality with plastic and gold connectors is identical. The only difference is that gold-plated connectors can last (and keep a good-quality connection) for much longer. But is that important in a PC sound card? I think not.

Also, the piece you have heard about driver updates causing problems in the OEM version seems like total bullshit to me. The cards are identical in almost every way (most importantly the audio chip is the same) so it would be real odd for one to have problems. I've got an OEM Audigy and it has never caused problems for me.
August 18, 2003 11:11:21 PM

Thanks for your reply. The update problem seemed bullshit to me, too. It was said that the software comes with OEM version has a bug in auto update feature. But I see that you're using your card without any problem. So, I decided to buy the OEM version as well...