Sign in with
Your question

This System ok?

Last response: in Components
September 4, 2003 5:12:11 AM

Hey, been posting several questions here...
So far this is what my new system might be, does it look ok? This is my first time building.

Athlon XP 3000+ 400 FSB
DFI LanParty nforce 2 Ultra mobo
GeForce FX5900 256mb
2 x Corsair PC-3200 512MB ram
Antec TrueBlue 480W PSU
2 WestDig. 40GB HD's, 7200rpm, set in raid array
DVD 16x
CD-RW
Audigy 2
and the usual monitor, speakers, case, fans etc.

Anything here stick out, or anyone have suggestions for different/better parts?
I'm not die-hard amd fan, but price is lower than intel. I'm not entirely adverse to switching to intel processor/mobo, if price justifies it.
Any comments appreciated, thanks

More about : system

Anonymous
September 4, 2003 8:21:56 PM

Personnaly, I would prefer an NVidia APU over the audigy card. I use one now and am very satisfied. Many will disagree. My experience is never being able to get the CL cards working quite right with games. I say this with great authority as I have now sat through 3 generations of their crap. 1. Awe32PNP (best one so far), 2. SBLive 3. Audigy 1. Maybe the Audigy 2 is better, but I wasn't willing to take that gamble as CL already got over $600 of my dollars for non working non supported hardware that now sits unused.

Keep in mind my primary usage is games. My musician freinds all seem to love their SBLives though. Go figure.
September 5, 2003 2:00:27 AM

I never have problem getting a Creative card to work. I have a SB Live for a long time (at least 5 years). I was able to get it to working with many different OS and games. Creative's sound card are the most popular one. Usually most popular means better support from other company. I think most game publisher will want their game to be compatible with the most popular sound card on the market.
Related resources
September 5, 2003 4:04:32 AM