Screen Freezes + Page File Problem : Please Help

gregg

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2003
Hi,

My monitor screen started freezing lately. All of a sudden it would not respond to mouse or keyboard commands and would not respond to Ctrl + Alt + Del either. I had to pull the plug and restart it. It would then work for a little while or sometimes freeze immediately after starting.

I am no computer expert so I thought it was my OS and I was thinking about reinstalling Windows. I have a P III 500 Compaq Presario dual boot system with Win 98 SE and Win XP (Pro) on a 40 GB hard drive with 5 partitions and 192 MB ( 128 + 64 MB ) RAM. I called a local service centre and they suggested it might be a hardware problem rather than software and I should leave the system with them for a day and then they would tell me what the problem is. I then asked a friend and he thought it could be RAM so I took out the extra module of 128 MB that I had purchased from a local store and the system hasn’t frozen at least for the day while running Win 98. Obviously I couldn’t run even a Word application in XP. I put that RAM back again and tried to run XP and it started freezing again.

I bought 128 MB RAM about 18 months ago.

My question is :

Is it just the RAM and should I go out and get more RAM or there could be something else too?

Does RAM go out so quickly? I did take Precautions about static.

Could installing some software damage the RAM?

Could virus damage RAM?

Could virus damage motherboard or any other hardware?