Sign in with
Your question

Molex Wiring

Last response: in Components
September 19, 2003 11:05:55 AM

Hi everyone,

I've been a computer tech/builder/serviceman for about 5 years now, and I've NEVER even seen a Molex wiring tool or kit. Where do I get one?

Every modded PC I've ever seen still has the off color lame wiring for the 4/3 pin connectors all tucked behind things and zip-tied. I want to avoid the power wiring messes I see everywhere on my new rig.

I really want to use black wiring with colored striping and have the cables routed properly at the proper lengths.

Anyone have some ideas?

More about : molex wiring

September 20, 2003 1:49:05 AM

Good question.

El Bumpo.

Okay, brain. You don't like me, and I don't like you, but let's get through this thing and then I can continue killing you with beer. -- Homer Simpson.
September 27, 2003 2:13:56 AM

Bump again.

Okay, brain. You don't like me, and I don't like you, but let's get through this thing and then I can continue killing you with beer. -- Homer Simpson.
Related resources
October 3, 2003 10:43:28 PM

After alot of research, I finally discovered all there is to know about molex pins and crimping. You can find molex pins and cimpers at www.action2k.com. This is a reputable e-store.

Molex pins are sized based on the distance between the pins on the housing. the female pins on ATX power supply connectors are called 0.96" while the males are 0.62".
The crimper will cost you about $15. I bought a 0.96" molex pin remover in radioshack.
October 4, 2003 7:22:18 PM

THANK YOU! I looked around on the net for quite a while and I didn't get any good information about that stuff. I didn't take the effort to go into Radio Shack IRL though ;-)