Reboot and select proper boot device

xbigbryan

Honorable
Aug 1, 2012
I'm sorry, I'm new to the whole forum thing so I'm hoping I didn't post this in the wrong area. I'm just hoping someone can help. I'm fairly sure people have posted about this problem before but I can't seem to find any threads or help regarding my problem specifically.

As the topic title suggests I'm getting the message " Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key" upon starting up my computer. This happened randomly after I was torrenting something, I heard the torrent finish, fell asleep for an hour and when I woke up my computer was off. Don't know why. Turned on the computer and got this message.
I've tried a few things based on the advice of others like clearing CMOS, tinkering with the BIOS and using Diskpart to make a specific partition "active" which is where I ran into some weird problems.

First off, it seems like according to my BIOS my computer recognizes both of my SATA hard drives and my DVD drive. The boot device priority was in the correct order and I tried tinkering with that to no avail. But it does show up. I've been running my computer and trying things out now with rather only the primary SATA HD hooked up or with the DVD drive as well (when trying to use the recovery disk).

The odd part though is when I tried using the recovery disk to access the command prompt and try out diskpart, I found out that I had no partitions? I was following steps to make it "active" and when I got to typing "list partition" after "selecting disk 0" I got a message saying the disk had no partitions which I found odd cos I was using the computer a few hours ago off of that very hard drive...

Is this off or am I missing something? Does anyone else have something I can try cos this is driving me nuts.

xbigbryan

Honorable
Aug 1, 2012