Total newbie to linux

I was what the difference between different versions of linux like FreeBSD, RedHat, or Debian. What would you suggest for learning how to use linux?
15 answers Last reply
More about total newbie linux
  1. Mostly the differences are down to user interface and distribution specific tools. BTW, FreeBSD is a BSD variant, not Linux - they have a different kernel.

I'd suggest getting a copy of Mandrake 8.2, Redhat 7.3, or Suse 8.0. They are the most support and user friendly. Debian is a bit harder to get started on...

<i>It's all the same with the lights off</i>
  2. Thanks, a friend of mine has RedHat so I'll get that. Then if I have any problems I can ask him. Thanks for the input!
  3. Ive been meaning to try Suse 8.0 but i cannot find the ISOs. Does anyone know where to get the Suse 8 ISOs?
  4. I think Suse only release it's current versions on CD. There may be some ISOs floating around on the net somewhere tho, just not officially.

5. search for stuff like i386_suse.iso and stuff like that on google and you should find it.
  6. Okay, I booted up The Red Hat installation. I installed everything on disc 1 and I inserted disc 2 when it said to. Then it gave me a message that it could not mount the drive. What is wrong? Any help would be appreiciated
  7. what's your setup? hardware? what is the exact text of the message?

8. I have a partition set up that is 7.5GB for linux. I have a 1900+, 512MB DDR, ASUS A7V266-E, and my cd-drive is ATAPI compatable. The message says could not mount drive.
  9. um ok, so it's the cd drive it can't mount then? My first guess is that the cd is bad.

<i>Does this count as Community Service, Officer?</i>