Sign in with
Your question

Total newbie to linux

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
June 3, 2002 11:51:58 PM

I was what the difference between different versions of linux like FreeBSD, RedHat, or Debian. What would you suggest for learning how to use linux?

More about : total newbie linux

June 4, 2002 3:11:11 AM

Mostly the differences are down to user interface and distribution specific tools. BTW, FreeBSD is a BSD variant, not Linux - they have a different kernel.

I'd suggest getting a copy of Mandrake 8.2, Redhat 7.3, or Suse 8.0. They are the most support and user friendly. Debian is a bit harder to get started on...

<i>It's all the same with the lights off</i>
June 4, 2002 3:55:01 AM

Thanks, a friend of mine has RedHat so I'll get that. Then if I have any problems I can ask him. Thanks for the input!
Related resources
June 5, 2002 4:49:02 AM

Ive been meaning to try Suse 8.0 but i cannot find the ISOs. Does anyone know where to get the Suse 8 ISOs?
June 5, 2002 5:26:03 AM

I think Suse only release it's current versions on CD. There may be some ISOs floating around on the net somewhere tho, just not officially.

June 6, 2002 2:22:54 AM

search for stuff like i386_suse.iso and stuff like that on google and you should find it.
June 6, 2002 4:14:15 AM

Okay, I booted up The Red Hat installation. I installed everything on disc 1 and I inserted disc 2 when it said to. Then it gave me a message that it could not mount the drive. What is wrong? Any help would be appreiciated
June 6, 2002 5:40:14 AM

what's your setup? hardware? what is the exact text of the message?

June 6, 2002 3:52:03 PM

I have a partition set up that is 7.5GB for linux. I have a 1900+, 512MB DDR, ASUS A7V266-E, and my cd-drive is ATAPI compatable. The message says could not mount drive.
June 6, 2002 4:17:03 PM

um ok, so it's the cd drive it can't mount then? My first guess is that the cd is bad.

<i>Does this count as Community Service, Officer?</i>
June 6, 2002 11:36:14 PM