Sign in with
Your question

help choosing a laptop

Last response: in Laptops & Notebooks
August 7, 2007 3:29:46 PM

hi guys, i'm in search for a laptop for college like a lot of students at this time, and i'm having a hard time deciding amongst several laptops as i am a noob when it comes to anything techy, so i was wondering if you would give me your advice on which would be the best for my needs.

requirements:
1. will last me 5+ years
2. can handle basic web browsing/emailing, flash games, adobe photoshop, streaming videos, dvd/movies, webcam, a ton of multi-tasking and the occasional rpg-like/full screen games
3. will not lag with windows vista premium (i've heard that it is generally slow)
4. will not pick up fingerprints/scratch easily
5. has an integrated webcam, good media center and looks somewhat stylish
6. AMD turion 64 x2 or intel core 2 duo + windows vista premium
7. at least 120 gbs harddrive space

my price range is < $950, ideal is around $750-- obviously the less expensive, the better, but i also want it to run well and last long.

these are the machines i'm looking into:

1. HP Pavilion 15.4" Widescreen Notebook PC (DV-6449-US) - $750 after rebates
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Specificati...ication.do...
AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-56
160GB hard drive
2GB of DDR2 memory
Built-in 802.11abgn wireless
Windows Vista Home Premium
Processor speed: 1.80GHz
Weight: 6.8 lbs.
Built-in webcam
NVIDIA GeForce Go 6150 graphics
Built-in 802.11abgn wireless

2. dell inspiron 1521 - $890 after discounts (original unconfigured price: $783)
AMD Turion™ 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-56 (1MB/1.8GHz)
Genuine Windows Vista™ Home Premium Edition (+$29)
FREE! 2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 at 667MHz
FREE! 160GB* SATA Hard Drive (5400RPM)
CD / DVD writer (DVD+/-RW Drive)
56Whr Lithium Ion Battery (6 cell)
Integrated 2.0 Megapixel Webcam (+$50)
Dell Wireless 1505 Wireless-N Mini-card
ATI RADEON® Xpress1270 HyperMemory
Ruby Red color (+$50)