Sign in with
Your question
Closed

System Crash Every Hour - Bewildering

Tags:
Last response: in Windows 7
August 9, 2012 10:16:01 AM

As a system administrator by profession this is both embarrassing and frustrating to post yet I've run out of ideas.

A few days ago (8/6/2012) my system started experiencing hourly system crashes to the tee. No matter what I'm doing (gaming, skyping, browsing, idle) the OS siezes.

Things I've done so far:

1) Reviewed event logs
2) Updated Motherboard & Video card drivers
3) Disabled all scheduled tasks
4) Reviewed memory.dmp (outdated - no new dumps)
5) Configured performance monitoring
6) Ran CCleaner
7) Disabled/Uninstalled unused applications
8) Watched process explorer around problematic time for any noticeble spikes. (none were found)
Edit*
9) I've also ensured my antivirus has the latest definitions and ran a full scan. To be safe I also scan'd using trenmicro which came up empty.

By reviewing the event logs I learned that the crashes have been occurring every hour. A small sample shown below:

-----------------------------------
Log Name: System
Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
Date: 8/8/2012 2:40:04 AM
Event ID: 41
Task Category: (63)
Level: Critical
Keywords: (2)
User: SYSTEM
Computer: EBlankenship-PC
Description:
The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
Date: 8/8/2012 3:41:30 AM
Description:
The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
Date: 8/8/2012 4:42:08 AM
Description:

These errors are not the cause but rather the response from me having to power cycle the system. Yet, I'm seeing no errors in the system or application logs prior to the system hangs.

The only thing that changed on the 6th was that I installed the following:
Java(TM) 7 Update 5
JavaFX 2.1.1
Fraps