G

I travel for a living and am ready to upgrade. I am looking for speed and power primarly to access the internet and download streaming video. Also use the computer for microsoft office apps along with sever business apps. I have looked at the new Dell XPS units but really don't know what I am looking at when I go to customize the unit.

VistaVendetta

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2009
I travel for a living and am ready to upgrade. I am looking for speed and power primarly to access the internet and download streaming video. Also use the computer for microsoft office apps along with sever business apps. I have looked at the new Dell XPS units but really don't know what I am looking at when I go to customize the unit.

Okay looks like you could use a crash course in computers before I tell you what to buy. First of all there are several things you should check on a computer before you buy it:
1) the CPU only Intel and AMD make CPUs and you should look at benchmarks when comparing CPUs heres 2 websites to compare CPUs: http://www.cpubenchmark.net/
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Processors-Benchmarklist.2436.0.html

2) The memory (RAM): most computers today will have Windows 7 either 32 bit or 64 bit. Basically the more RAM you have the better. Unfortunately, your computer is limited in the amount of RAM it can have.

3) Hard Drive: Laptop hard drives are usually 5400RPM but you can get 7200RPM hard drives for a little extra. 7200RPM hard drives are faster than 5400RPM.

4) Video Card: This one isn't so vital if you aren't going to play video games, a normal mid range video card will do. Just make sure not buy a computer with integrated graphics. Avoid integrated video cards at all costs, they are slower than dedicated cards and they take up RAM on your computer with slows you down.