Should i get blu ray drive for my dell studio 15?

aceatch

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2010
hi, ive brought the dell studio 1535 about a year ago now with specs of:

Windows 7 home premium
Intel Core 2 Duo T5800
3Gb DDR2 Ram
ATI Radeon mobility HD 3450

at the moment i have a CD/DVD slot drive and now planning on buying a blu ray drive from ebay. the link for that is: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Dell-Studio-1...pAccessories_LaptopDrives?hash=item5ad6b33533
Also recently i had my screen replaced with a full HD 1920X1080 (Im soo chuffed with it!!!) when my old screen started flickering.

the drive along with HDMI cable will be roughly £90 and was wondering if it would be worth it and also if it will be compatible with my laptop?

Im generally quite good with computer so i would know how to fit the component.

I would also be using it for connecting it to my 32" HDTV and using it when traveling as im a student.

Any answers will be appreciated, thanks!

If it fits your model, then there should be instructions on replacing the optical drive in either the uder guide manuals or online. Usually it's a punch of pins and clips and the old drive slides out, and then the new drive slides in and should click into place.

Compatability is usually based on bay type, check the type of bay your DELL uses and the type the drive on eBay uses, same type and it should be fine since it will simply send the data and the CPU and GPU will decode along with your BR software.

Hoodini

Distinguished
May 22, 2010