NEW digital camera recommendation

xslimmiejimmiex

Distinguished
Dec 3, 2005
Unfortunately, my time to research cameras are limited, therefore i seek the knowlege of users in this forum. I'm new to the whole digital camera specs/features/etc, therefore i'm stuck and don't know what to purchase. My range is $200-$375(max).
A.) I want a camera that:
- Has AA batteries
- 5 or + megapixels
- pretty big LCD
- excellent quality pics
- PC compatible
- good zoom (no idea whats a good amount)
- good flash
- great features
- good amount of memory (no clue about memory size/type)
- great bang for the buck$

B.) The use:
- Vacation shots
- Close/ far away
- Day & night pictures
- Concerts
- scenic images

C.) So far i've found:
- SONY DSC-W5
- Canon A610
- Olympus C-770 Ultra Zoom

Anyways, i know its broad, but i hope its enough for suggestions. Just lemme know ASAP the brand/price/features,etc. Thanks in advance, take care all. happy holidays -peace

spencer mccredie

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2009
Canon Powershot SX10IS

I've owned each new version of this camera since the Powershot S2IS. For me this is a worthwhile upgrade over the prior version, the S5IS.

This camera provides quality photos without a lot of hassle, yet also provides a lot of room for growth with plenty of custom settings that I can use if I want to learn how to use them in the future (for example, aperture priority).

In initial testing, the face detection technology seems to work well. I can take a self portrait now and the lighting comes out very good. I think the technology has gone from buzzword marketing to true usefulness. One side benefit of the face detection technology is that it enables the camera to intelligently take red-eye out of pictures without using the red-eye reduction lamp.

The flip-out and rotating viewfinder has always and continues to set this camera apart from its peers from other companies. It allows for less intrusive candid photos and has many other advantages.