Thinkpad R40 Ethernet doesn't work, Wireless does

Status
Not open for further replies.

testor15

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2008
We have an IBM Thinkpad, R40, model 2681-4GU.

I am a 20+ year programmer, system builder & tech specializing in system forensics and system security compromising.

This laptop computer has me stumped.

This laptop lost it's ability to use wired / motherboard Ethernet based networking. The computer will show "A network cable is unplugged" on rj-45 connections. When the on board rj-45 port quit working the following steps were taken:
1. Device Manager showed Intel Pro/100 VE working properly.
2. Several different patch cables were used to verify cables not the cause.
3. HiJackThis showed nothing unusual, no hidden toolbars or background processes running.
4. A series of complete virus, spyware / malware scans were performed, nothing found.
5. A newer BIOS version was found so BIOS was updated to latest version from IBM.
6. Newer drivers were available so the drivers were checked and updated from IBM and Microsoft.
7. A 3Com PCMCIA 10/100 card was installed and Device Manger showed it was working properly but the systray showed "A network cable is unplugged" on the rj-45 connection.
8. A wireless USB device was installed and it connects properly.
9. The computer has be wiped clean and a new XP Pro image was installed and tested with same results.
10. Updates applied to the system with the same results.
11. PCMCIA slots are functioning properly with other plugged in devices.
12. Installed a Linksys USB10T rj-45 in a USB port and it can now attach to a wired network.
13. The IRQ 11 is shared by several devices with different addresses for each

Have you heard of this happening? How can a system block motherboard based rj-45 ports but not wireless or USB? Any thoughts on how to restore the motherboard based port to active status so the rj-45 can be used?

testor15

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2008