laptop recommandation

Status
Not open for further replies.

kyrotomia

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2007
Hi,
First of all, let me explain why I'm here. This week, both of my systems (a desktop and a laptop) decided to past away. My desktop's motherboard is gone and my notebook won't recognize his hard drive. I know I could get the laptop a new hard drive, but I don't want to invest on this computer since I need a replacement for my dead desktop anyways.

Considering that I'm currently studying at college and always travelling to school on the week and back at my hometown in the weekends, I think I should get a notebook as my replacement.

However, I do not know alots in the notebook world, since I always used my desktop and I never really looked news and info about laptops. So I came here looking for some model recommandation.

Here is some info about my use:
I only bring an external storage drive to school (About 120gb actually), and all my files are kept on that. Storage is not that important on my laptop.

I often use software such as Vmware (running 2 virtual machines). I would like the laptop to be able to run that.

Basically, this is my needs. Screen size is not very important, although I would like 15.4" at least. Also, the operating system is not important.

Thank you!

overclockingrocks

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2006