To RAID or not to RAID??

Lil_Biatch_UK

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2004
Hello all,

I'm looking to build a new system, as my current one is getting creaky

my question is, as i use my system for gaming first then downloading large files/media encoding second, do i use a raid 0 array as my boot disk or a single hard drive for maximum performance???

the drive(s) would be 74GB western digital 10,000 SATA raptors on a msi k8t neo mobo, 3200 athlon 64, 1gb corsair 3200 pro, 9800xt, creative audigy 2, pci adsl modem, seagate 200 GB on ide channel (as storage disk), dvd rom and dvd rewriter, the operating system would be xp pro sp1 with norton internet security as the only program that would be running at all times

i am really looking for blistering gaming performance, the media encoding would take second place if there was a choice to make.

also would i use the onboard controller for the raid array or a separate pci controller for maximum performance???

i have no experience of raid in any capacity and would appreciate any advice you can give.

Biatch

marneus

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
What would be more important?? Striping the 2HDDs into one faster virtual drive or mirroring your 1st HDD to your 2nd so that in case of disaster, U will have a backup...

Trust me I know what I'm doing... ooops, grab the cat...

Lil_Biatch_UK

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2004
definitely the striping for one virtual drive, this would only contain the boot disk and programs, all my data is always kept on a separate disk and backed up

See you at the end of my scope :)

grafixmonkey

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2004
Use a single disk to boot off of, and a striped array for stuff you want to be fast.

Reason 1: The array will require drivers, and you don't want a driver or bios problem to prevent you from booting, because if you can't boot you can't fix your drivers.