Help: RAID or no RAID on my new system???

Cane1992

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2002
My new stuff just came in and I"m thinking about RAID or not. A little help as this would be new for me.

Is RAID the way to go on my new system? And if so 0 or 1 and how to set up?

* Sorry for the beginner questions from me as I'm a newbie on RAID hard drive setup.

ABIT IS-7
2.8c
SATA Seagate 120gb
PATA Maxtor 40gb

Thanks in advance to any and all replies...

Xeon

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2004
RAID 0 little buddy I got to Raptors in RAID 0. I would never go back ever the system response time increases OS load times to game load times. Best money you spend would be to get the RAID configuration.

Xeon

<font color=orange>Scratch Here To Reveal Prize</font color=orange>

grafixmonkey

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2004
Better think twice about the raid 0. You should read the Raid FAQ at the top for information, but here's the short of it:

RAID can increase either the performance or the fault tolerance of your drives. (not both, at least not without lots of $$ flowing.) If you use RAID-1, then if one drive fails you don't lose your information. But if you use RAID-1, you only get half of the drive space you started with. If you use RAID-0, then you add the speeds of your drives together because the system uses both of them at once as if they were one drive. BUT: If you use a RAID-0, if one drive out of the two ever fails, then all information stored on the RAID array is lost. (you can't 'get back half' of the data, it's all gone unless you find software that can scan the dead drive and reconstruct a RAID volume - pretty specialized software, but it exists if you can find and buy it.)

There are other levels of RAID but you probably don't have support for them on your controller.