Closed Solved

Should I return the Win 7 OEM I bought online?

Just bought 64-bit Windows 7 OEM online. This wasn't mentioned anywhere when I bought it but I can see printed on the disk through the clear window on the sealed envelope that it is Dell-branded. It also states: "For Distribution Only With a New Dell PC."

I'm new at this and I am trying to put together my first build. Is it normal for Windows OEM software to come with Dell's or some other company's branding? Is this legal? Should I return this? If I use this in my new build will it work? If it does work, what, if any, differences will there be; for example, I assume I'll get a Dell splash screen, but what else? And would there be any way of permanently removing all branding?

I'd like to get these questions answered before I break the seal on the envelope it came in.

Thank you,
JP
10 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about should return bought online
  1. For Distribution Only With a New Dell PC. < it's only a legal install on a dell windows 7 licensed pc.
  2. Just bought 64-bit Windows 7 OEM online. < auction site or retailer?
  3. Best answer
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116986

This is what you should have bought ^

$79.99 with this coupon > EMCYTZT2082 :D
  4. Hi :)

ONLY Dell are allowed to sell those discs...so YES ITS ILLEGAL....if you get any hassle returning it for a FULL refund, tell them you will have a chat with Microsofts Piracy line...

That should make them pay attention...lol

All the best Brett :)
  5. Brett928S2 said:
    Hi :)

ONLY Dell are allowed to sell those discs...so YES ITS ILLEGAL....if you get any hassle returning it for a FULL refund, tell them you will have a chat with Microsofts Piracy line...

That should make them pay attention...lol

All the best Brett :)

I was just wondering about that as it was purchased from a retailer who I now see has a no-return policy. So thanks for that advice; that's exactly what I'll do.

Best regards,