Linux Hostname on LAN

CatherineStevens

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2002
Ok I have finally gotten my new Linux server up and running on my LAN and I am using a Linksys router. I am new to this eth0/loopback thing (why the heck do you need an adaptor called loopback? What does it do? Ok my real question though is: my computers can each access the internet through my router but they can't see each other and my router config page shows that my linux box does not have a hostname. I am thinking that could be why they can't see each other but I don't know how to give my linux box a hostname without messing up the protocols. It is listed as localhost.localdomain right now, but if I change that to a name I make up for it, it goves me errors on boot up (though it still reaches the internet, thank goodness). Where do I set the hostname?

Ok here's the update: I found some instructions that said to edit /etc/sysconfig/network and type $hostname <myhostname>, which makes sense blah blah blah but my dhcp client table on my router config still does not show a hostname for the linux box IP. Additionally, I can ping the linux box IP from the xp machine by IP address but not by hostname.<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by CatherineStevens on 06/20/02 03:41 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

silverpig

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
Okay, gonna need some more info here. I may be able to help, but poorboy is the on you really want to talk to. First of all, how are all your computers connected? Do you have internet -> linksys router -> linux server and XP box, or internet -> linksys router -> linux server -> XP box?

If the former, then it's not a linux thing, it's a linksys thing. If the latter, then we'll have to do some figuring. Also, do you have samba up and running? They computers should be able to see each other without any trouble even if you don't, but accessing files may be another issue.

If my baby don't love me, I know, I know, her sister will.

poorboy

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2002