Fix to no bass in rear speakers on Medusa 5.1 with Audigy2ZS

Bazwick

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2006
I just posted this elsewhere but thought it might help more people if I started a new thread.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I bought a set of Medusa 5.1 surround headphones just on a week ago.

I ordered them Friday night and they arrived Tuesday night. I live in Australia and they were delivered from the U.K. Sensational!
Great quality, couldn't fault anything at all.

I plugged them in, everything was fine until I started playing Battlefield 2 where I found the rears had almost no bass at all. REALLY disappointed. Even testing them with the Creative speaker settings applet that gives you a voice through each individual channel sounded tinny through the rear speakers IN THE HEADPHONES ONLY.
So I swapped the front and rear connections on the amp and the problem swapped from rear to front. I figured "must be the amp" because I have external Creative speakers connected to the Audio Out ports on the amp and those rear speakers sounded great. I used the Creative speaker calibration applet (Basic) which even allowed me to change the polarity of each channel. I'd read here somewhere that this might be causing the problem and that Creative speakers (like mine) were wired to compensate for the polarity reversal. Or something.
Still no improvement.

So I sent an email to Speed-Link support who suggested:

"please set in the Soundcard Software the Bass Redirection to Enabled. Does this not help it can be a faulty Headset, please change it then there you bought it."

I'd tried that already by using the Support page on both the Speed-Link and Medusa websites.