Sign in with
Your question

Software Vs Hardware Raid

Last response: in Storage
April 25, 2004 3:27:39 AM

I currently have 2 WD 80 gig, ATA 100, 8 meg buffer as dynaic disks using stripped volumes on XP Pro. Since the burner is on the chain of one of the disks, I think it slows the raid to its level. Is it worth buying 2 80 gig, 8 meg buffer, sata 150 drives to use on the hardware raid built into my MSI m/b. Would the difference in performance be worth the cost? Thank you for all input.

More about : software hardware raid

April 25, 2004 12:44:22 PM

I have never heard of a motherboard with hardware RAID built in.

P4c 2.6@3.25
512Mb PC4000
2x120Gb 7200.7 in RAID0
Waterchill KT12-L30
Abit AI7
Radeon 9800Pro
April 25, 2004 11:32:24 PM

Just for the record, I am NOT in favor of using "Dynamic Disks". So I have very little experience with them. (However, during the brief time I did use them I did not have any problems.)

I have used Windows NT and Windows 2000 in software RAID configurations where I was mirroring the drives.

When I switched to a hardware RAID solution there was a significant improvement in speed.

I, personally, am always in favor of compartmentalizing responsibilities.

If the RAID is handled by your hardware that is one less thing Windows has to deal with directly.

I, personally, would never stripe by boot/system drive. I only mirror the boot/system drive. That is simply because in diagnosing/recovering from problems the most important issue is to get the PC up. The RAID cards, or on board, that I use all use "generic hard drive formats" for mirroring. That way if I need to boot outside of the RAID I can just pop off a drive, any drive, and boot under a different controller.

Only the data drives that I use would I put into RAID 0 or RAID 5.

For me, it mainly just eases recovering and it's what I got myself used to.