A lot of questions about 5.1

Ziator

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2005
First of all, I don't know much about 5.1 Surround sound systems, or any sound systems, as you'll soon find out. I want to buy these:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=36-121-118&depa=0
(Logitech X-530 5.1)

I chose this system because most people seemed to like it, and I'm trying to keep it cheap.(I won't really care as long as the sound quality is better than Dell pre-packaged speakers, I'm no expert on sound and I probably couldn't tell the difference between this system and a more expensive one) However, I'm unsure of many things like:

1. How long are the wires that connect the satellites to the subwoofer (or whatever they connect to), or do they just not have wires (wireless)?
2. What if they're not long enough?
3. Will they work with an onboard sound card that comes with the A8N-SLI DELUXE Motherboard from Asus?(http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-131-517&depa=0)
4. Will getting a new sound card give a significant difference in sound quality for gaming, or will it be necessary.
5. Anyone with these speakers-As advertised, do the bases for the satellites rotate (as advertised) so I can directly mount them onto a wall, or will I have to make some kind of shelves for them to sit on?
6. Are there better speakers for my budget?

Thank you for your help.

cookingfrags

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2004
i have these speakers, and they have my safe recommendation. they're awesome. but, to answer your questions:

1. i think the rear speaker wires are 16 feet long. they're not any longer, thats for sure, but possibly a bit shorter.
2. a good thing: i believe the speaker wires have standard RCA jacks. if you want to extend the range of them, just use a male-male RCA wire (RCA is essentially the red and white cables that you use to hook up your DVD player to your TV).