phpDiplomacy 0.7 Released

Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

Hi rec.games.diplomacy, I think I forgot to post details here for 0.6,
oops. It's good to see another thread of someone else using 0.6
elsewhere, though it would be a better idea to use the official
installation at http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/ to see other users.
Anyway here's the news post thing:

phpDiplomacy 0.7 Released. Diplomacy is a popular board game in which
you battle to control Europe, but this isn't a game of luck; to win you
must be diplomatic and strategic, forming and breaking alliances and
bargains. phpDiplomacy takes the fight for Europe to the internet.


Official phpDiplomacy server:
[ http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/ ]

Screenshot:
[ http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/doc/0.7shot.png ]

FAQ:
[ http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/faq.php ]

Register a user account:
[ http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/register.php ]

Complete changelog:
[ http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/doc/changelog.txt ]

The main improvements in 0.7:
- Strict HTML 1.01 compliance.

- Reworked friendlier user interface.

- Smaller map for easier viewing.

- Arrows showing where units have advanced from.

- Improved database performance and reliability.

- Games can be played for a certain time of the day.

- Improved help files.

- Improved locale support.

Thanks to everyone who helped make 0.7 what it is, regards,
Kestas J. Kuliukas
15 answers Last reply
More about phpdiplomacy released
  1. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    On 20 Jul 2005 09:43:08 -0700, kestasjk wrote:

    > Screenshot:
    > [ http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/doc/0.7shot.png ]

    How do you display countries in spring, where the SC is owned by another
    power than the unit that is inside the country?

    And then I wanted to check whether I could add another language to the
    translation, but translate.zip can't be downloaded (404, file not
    found..)

    Cheers, great work!

    Lexi

    --
    t="tee /dev/tty";echo "Drei Chinesen mit nem Kontrabass"|$t|tr eiou a|\
    $t|tr a e|$t|tr e i|$t|tr i o|$t|tr o u
  2. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    Lexi Pimenidis wrote:
    > On 20 Jul 2005 09:43:08 -0700, kestasjk wrote:
    >
    > > Screenshot:
    > > [ http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/doc/0.7shot.png ]
    >
    > How do you display countries in spring, where the SC is owned by another
    > power than the unit that is inside the country?
    >
    > And then I wanted to check whether I could add another language to the
    > translation, but translate.zip can't be downloaded (404, file not
    > found..)
    >
    > Cheers, great work!
    >
    > Lexi
    >
    > --
    > t="tee /dev/tty";echo "Drei Chinesen mit nem Kontrabass"|$t|tr eiou a|\
    > $t|tr a e|$t|tr e i|$t|tr i o|$t|tr o u
    You occupy whichever country your units are in, but SC's you've taken
    or lost don't affect the number of units you have until Autumn. Your
    units can't be in a country occupied by another power (unless they're
    retreating).

    As for the translation thing, thanks for considering translating, but
    as it's 0.7 lots of text may change before the final version, so you
    would have to re-translate certain parts of phpDiplomacy. (It says this
    on the translation info page at the top) Thanks though, I'll let you
    know if/when there are stable translation files. :)

    Its a shame it looks like this release is getting much less viewers
    than last time, even though it's a much improved release, because I
    released it at the wrong time of the day on freshmeat.net. :( So it
    stayed on the front page for only a couple of hours. bah

    Thanks for your interest,
    Kestas
  3. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    >But the point is, that the units itself are not coloured. So how would
    >you display a german unit in an austrian territory in spring? Would you
    >display the territory black (which would be wrong because the SC itself
    >is still austrian) or red (which would be wrong because the army belongs
    >to germany).
    Well the SC isn't Austrian, it's German. But the unit doesn't get taken
    from the Austrian's until Autumn. How can a territory which is occupied
    by a unit from one country be owned by another country?
    Regards,
  4. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    On 20 Jul 2005 21:01:19 -0700, kestasjk wrote:

    > You occupy whichever country your units are in, but SC's you've taken
    > or lost don't affect the number of units you have until Autumn. Your
    > units can't be in a country occupied by another power (unless they're
    > retreating).

    Yes - I know.

    But the point is, that the units itself are not coloured. So how would
    you display a german unit in an austrian territory in spring? Would you
    display the territory black (which would be wrong because the SC itself
    is still austrian) or red (which would be wrong because the army belongs
    to germany).

    > As for the translation thing, thanks for considering translating, but
    > as it's 0.7 lots of text may change before the final version, so you
    > would have to re-translate certain parts of phpDiplomacy. (It says this
    > on the translation info page at the top) Thanks though, I'll let you
    > know if/when there are stable translation files. :)

    Go ahead :-)

    Cheers,

    Lexi

    --
    H4sICCz7aT8AA2J1ZACVUMtqhDAU3ecrjquC6PyCmGSgq6Fgi3SZmQkTq/WKJpX+fW9ibWdXuki4
    3Md55XM33uLLRV3i0Q4DVUKWeKUMrTP+YUGYqjg70WghC7yFxWM1/uL4Ct5Z3My7LeDMR2wYyHA9
    oCE4WmHOFDw+KSTQBFH+eRzZnufAbc//QagSbd00L09Jx1Zmm8gCqyPW6FlqmsbW1F16Vp3gJ8ec
    WYTYvak7DLUbtbNlFE3Ud/bbP3ToudaxroTSsta/h/nZ2ilPsDRcQWOGH4Yjbyp5t6v0kQ2yvU1T
    N2+qlhQ5B7XuOUMm7vaf+QjxBXx25rHGAQAA
  5. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    kestasjk wrote:
    >>But the point is, that the units itself are not coloured. So how would
    >>you display a german unit in an austrian territory in spring? Would you
    >>display the territory black (which would be wrong because the SC itself
    >>is still austrian) or red (which would be wrong because the army belongs
    >>to germany).
    >
    > Well the SC isn't Austrian, it's German. But the unit doesn't get taken
    > from the Austrian's until Autumn. How can a territory which is occupied
    > by a unit from one country be owned by another country?
    > Regards,

    I think you misunderstand the rules. Ownership of a supply center is
    determined only by Autumn occupation. For instance, if an Italian army
    passes through Trieste in the Spring, but Trieste is unoccupied in
    Autumn, Trieste is still Austrian.

    --
    Any time you get members of a government preaching out -against
    government-, it's a sure bet they're looking to replace it with whatever
    ELSE they own. -- Skyler Bode
  6. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    > I think you misunderstand the rules. Ownership of a supply center is
    > determined only by Autumn occupation. For instance, if an Italian army
    > passes through Trieste in the Spring, but Trieste is unoccupied in
    > Autumn, Trieste is still Austrian.
    Really? Oh damn looks like I missed that in the rulebook. Where abouts
    does it say this I just had a flick through (2000 rules) and couldn't
    find anything which says the SC isn't occupied unless it's occupied in
    Autumn.
    Thanks for the help,
  7. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    Ah okay found it. I'll have to update this for the next release.
    Thanks,
  8. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    Page 17, Rule 5: "GAINING AND LOSING UNITS PHASE (AFTER FALL TURN)"

    Hasbro's caps, not mine.

    "kestasjk" <kestas.j.k@gmail.com> wrote in message
    news:1121996368.907417.286220@g44g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
    >> I think you misunderstand the rules. Ownership of a supply center is
    >> determined only by Autumn occupation. For instance, if an Italian army
    >> passes through Trieste in the Spring, but Trieste is unoccupied in
    >> Autumn, Trieste is still Austrian.
    > Really? Oh damn looks like I missed that in the rulebook. Where abouts
    > does it say this I just had a flick through (2000 rules) and couldn't
    > find anything which says the SC isn't occupied unless it's occupied in
    > Autumn.
    > Thanks for the help,
    >
  9. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    kestasjk wrote:
    >>I think you misunderstand the rules. Ownership of a supply center is
    >>determined only by Autumn occupation. For instance, if an Italian army
    >>passes through Trieste in the Spring, but Trieste is unoccupied in
    >>Autumn, Trieste is still Austrian.
    >
    > Really? Oh damn looks like I missed that in the rulebook. Where abouts
    > does it say this I just had a flick through (2000 rules) and couldn't
    > find anything which says the SC isn't occupied unless it's occupied in
    > Autumn.
    > Thanks for the help,

    The term is "control" or "ownership", not "occupy".

    Under "GAINING AND LOSING UNITS PHASE (AFTER FALL TURN) in the first
    sub-heading, "Controlling Supply Centers". The second paragraph begins
    "Once a country gains control of a supply center, it can leave the
    center vacant and keep control of it, as long as that center is not
    occupied by another country at the close of Fall turn. A unit that moves
    into a supply center during a Spring turn and moves out of it during the
    Fall of the same year does not affect the ownership of the supply center."

    --
    Any time you get members of a government preaching out -against
    government-, it's a sure bet they're looking to replace it with whatever
    ELSE they own. -- Skyler Bode
  10. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    This situation appears to be missing from "Diplomacy Adjudicator Test
    Cases"
  11. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    A hole in the DATC? Lucas, get to work! LOL

    "Jono4174H" <cpu4174h@hotmail.com> wrote in message
    news:1122089713.143526.188200@g44g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
    > This situation appears to be missing from "Diplomacy Adjudicator Test
    > Cases"
    >
  12. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    Hi All,

    Nice to see that people read the document :-)

    This test case is indeed missing. There are no test cases
    at all for capturing supply centers.

    It doesn't make sense to add normal capturing supply centers
    test cases, because you will find out soon enough that it is
    not working.

    Are there more tricky situations in capturing supply centers,
    except this one? I don't think so, but with Diplomacy, you
    never know what pops up.

    Anyway, it can take a while or a new DATC version. I am bussy
    developing a internetgame, where have to meet in real (shodka).

    Regards,

    Lucas

    "Jono4174H" <cpu4174h@hotmail.com> schreef in bericht news:1122089713.143526.188200@g44g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
    > This situation appears to be missing from "Diplomacy Adjudicator Test
    > Cases"
    >
  13. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    In article <42e244e0$0$10606$19deed1b@news.inter.NL.net>,
    Lucas B. Kruijswijk <L.B.Kruijswijk@inter.nl.net> wrote:

    > Are there more tricky situations in capturing supply centers,
    > except this one?

    I've never seen it mis-programmed, but you should probably make sure that a
    fall retreat into a supply center captures it, and that a bounced retreat
    doesn't. But there doesn't seem to be any urgency to it.

    --
    Randy Hudson
  14. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    "Randy Hudson" <ime@panix.com> schreef in bericht news:dbup2l$t29$1@reader2.panix.com...
    > In article <42e244e0$0$10606$19deed1b@news.inter.NL.net>,
    > Lucas B. Kruijswijk <L.B.Kruijswijk@inter.nl.net> wrote:
    >
    > > Are there more tricky situations in capturing supply centers,
    > > except this one?
    >
    > I've never seen it mis-programmed, but you should probably make sure that a
    > fall retreat into a supply center captures it, and that a bounced retreat
    > doesn't. But there doesn't seem to be any urgency to it.
    Not very likely be mis-programmed. Then the programmer would have checked
    the supply centers before retreat instead after. Still, I will add it.
    If so, it could be unnoticed for a few games (but not more than 3 I think)
    and in principle such errors I want to catch.

    Regards,

    Lucas
  15. Archived from groups: rec.games.diplomacy (More info?)

    kestasjk a écrit :
    > Hi rec.games.diplomacy, I think I forgot to post details here for 0.6,
    > oops. It's good to see another thread of someone else using 0.6
    > elsewhere, though it would be a better idea to use the official
    > installation at http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/ to see other users.
    > Anyway here's the news post thing:
    >
    > phpDiplomacy 0.7 Released. Diplomacy is a popular board game in which
    > you battle to control Europe, but this isn't a game of luck; to win you
    > must be diplomatic and strategic, forming and breaking alliances and
    > bargains. phpDiplomacy takes the fight for Europe to the internet.
    >
    >
    >
    > Official phpDiplomacy server:
    > [ http://phpdiplomacy.kuliukas.com/ ]

    Hi,

    could you just tell us how to enter moves... I can't see where to do it...

    --
    @++
    Jacques
Ask a new question

Read More

Games Video Games