Dual Channel Memory

excitron

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2003
Hi folks, I plan to build a system around a Gigabyte GA-8KNXP, and I need info on dual channel memory. I'm not sure what I'm suppose to be looking for in ram. I don't necessasrily see these listed as such. Do I buy the packages which come in pairs, usually stating something like "matched pair"? I was looking at this one for instance:

http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec.hmx?scriteria=BA19405

Is this memory I can use in a dual channel setup? I want to put in 2 gigs of ram in this system. I will not be overclocking anything. Any help with this is appreciated, thanks.

dtp

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2001
Im not really an expert on this but if Ive read right in the past the Dual Channel memory depends on the motherboard and its capability to run the dual channel memory and you need 2 sticks of it in the motherboard. As far as matched sets I do most of my shopping on Newegg and have never seen matched sets on there,I would suggest getting all the same brand though. Like i said Im not really an expert but I thought this post might get you started.

Coyote

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2003
Hi exitron,

Yes, matched pair is specifically meant for use in dual channel setup. (I have also seen the marketing term "dual channel" kit used.) So this ram should work fine. I did note that it's CL3, which seems rather slow. I'm running a matched pair with CL2. In between w/b CL2.5

But this is for intel, and I use amd so I don't know how that CL3 will affect performance. Lastly, it may be a good idea to find a Forum for your specific mobo and see if there are any known issues with that ram and ur mobo. Some ram and mobo's just don't play nice together.

Good luck

Barton 2500+
Abit NF7-S v 2.0
Maxtor 60GB ATA 133 7200RPM
512MB Corsair Twinx 3200LL
9600 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 420 watts
Win98SE

Hal

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2004