FoSheezy

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2002
Hey all, i just built a computer for my friend. I've built several computers, but this is my first time running into this one.

1st I boot up the system, no beeps(no internal speaker wires came with case/mobo), nothing showing up on monitor as it continues to sleep. Power supply, fans, cpu, and everything seems to be running fine.

Now on my LED lights my HDD Led stays lite. The first thing I did was check the cables, several times I tried diff IDE cables on the HD, no go. I tried using a diff HD to see if that one I had just got was corrupt. Still no go. I thought maybe the light was just bugged or something, so I replaced the video card. Still nothing.

So I read the mobo manual and it showed a FAQ on what I was experiencing somewhat. If your computer starts normally, no beep codes, and nothing showing up on monitor and it gave me a list of things to try. I attempted all of them, even the jumper part which was hard since the mobo didn't come with a jumper, only the pins. So I had to find one, nothing worked. I even tried taking my mobo away from the case a little. No go.

Computer specs:
1.7ghz Intel Celeron fbs 400mhz
Soyo mobo SY-P4VTP 400/5333/800mhz fsb
40gb Western Digital HD 7200rpm 8mb cache
512mb DDR266 pc-2700 ram
Sony CD-Rom and Floppy drives
GeForce 2 MX 400+ 64mb DDR

Any help is much appreciated.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by fosheezy on 05/05/04 10:04 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

mrmonsoon

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2004
This may sound silly, but check your floppy cable, if plugged before the "twist", this kind of problem could occur. Try having the computer ignore the floppy drive from bios (something like flopy seek -disable and one other and first boot to cd as 1st and only boot choice) and see if this works.

mrmonsoon

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2004