Belkin KVM causes black screen

stretch0069

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2004
Well...after many years of popping into TH for info and sending others here for help :) , I'm now in need of some serious help myself.

I have a belkin 4 port KVM Model F1DS104U. It has been a fairly good little KVM for some time. I've been using it with an ADi E66 19" CRT for about 2 years. I also have an ADi PD-959 19" CRT w/ built-in USB hub. Both use VGA connectors.

Here's the problem: when I hook everything up and use the E66, all is well. If I remove the E66 and put in the PD-959, there is no display on the CRT. Its almost like the brightness is turned all the way dark....but its not. Now....to make things fun... :) If I take the PD-959 and plug it directly into each of the four PCs, the display comes up just fine. Plug it back into the KVM and darkness. :(

Belkin says its an incompatibility with my monitor. Well well well. What other monitors doesn't this KVM work with then??? They didn't have an answer.

I know there are a bunch of ground pins and a couple "not connected" pins. Did Belkin take a shortcut with their KVM that causes this problem????? I'd really like to solve this little mystery, but Belkin (after 3 emails and a phonecall) couldn't care less. :(

I'm going to try ADi next.

Does anyone have any insight????

I've always used this site for info. Its a wealth of knowledge that maybe I'll be able to contribute to. :)

Thanks,
Mike

folken

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2002
I did a little googling and your problem with the PD-959 appears to be universal. Something about it must be proprietary because it doesn't work for anyone.

<A HREF="http://www.folken.net/myrig.htm" target="_new">My precious...</A>

stretch0069

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2004
I appreciate the info. I did a Google search, but I guess I didn't do one on the PD-959. Sometimes I'm just not all here. :D