Master Boot Record, how do you protect it

carly

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2008
Hello everyone..

The Master Boot Record, How do you protect this from being damaged or corrupted and even from a virus attack..

Can you back it up in some way , or do you need a backup and recovery program for this..... :wahoo:

The MBR is just one piece of software that can get damaged. You really need to backup your Windows partition (usually C-Drive).

I use Acronis True Image. It's best to backup to a second drive (not just a second partition on the same drive). You can use an internal WD Green drive and even do automated Incremental updates so that you can RESTORE within a short time of a failed hard drive or irrecovable software corruption.

It's much better to do backups like this and use free Antivirus software than to pay yearly Antivirus fees.

carly

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2008

Thanks photonboy..brilliant

I am a bit new to all this, i have had computer's for a few years now, and did not think about backup and recovery until a couple of months ago......

I have Acronis on my vista computer, which the computer is fully backed up on all partitons, with about 3/4 incremetal backups a month or when i choose to run it.
So thats great i have the c:\ partition backed up anyway, i understand it now......

But this morning i downloaded "paragon backup and recovery" for the windows 7 machine, it was recommended by a friend
And so far its great, very simalar to acronis, but i think differential backups would suit me better....

If the computer fails to start or boot up, how would you know thats it the MBR that might be causing the problem
There's still alot of things i need to learn, so i take it you woulden't restore the whole c:\ drive just because the MBR is damaged or currupted in some way......... :cry:

ricky_critic

Distinguished
May 27, 2010
Follow the given instructions in order too protect MBR: