Toshiba P205D-S7436 randomly shuts off.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kova

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2009
Good morning Ladies and Gentlemen, today I come seeking help for my poor laptop. You see, it's the only thing that I have to keep my sanity and the only thing that provides entertainment. And now it's failing me, so I need your help.

This computer is now officially a year old, so the warranty is voided. It shipped with Windows Vista Home Premium. I am a college student so I mainly use the PC for simple tasks such as word processing, web surfing, and simple multimedia tasks like listening to music and watching movies. I began playing games on it such as World of Warcraft and Counter-Strike: Source and the performance was utterly rubbish. It was even worse than my old desktop which only had 1gb ram and a Pentium D processor. So I decided recently that it was time to rid myself of Vista and go for XP.

Up to now, the laptop has never had a problem with shutting off randomly, but earlier in the week I reformatted and installed XP, and it was fine. I installed the basic necessities, such as my favorite browser, an IM program and a music player. As I progressed, I eventually installed Counter-Strike:Source. I got to play it for about 5 minutes when all of a sudden, the laptop just bloody shut off without warning. When I rebooted the laptop, it got past the bios, and then the Win XP loading screen appeared, and it shut off again. I let the laptop sit for a good hour and came back, and when I rebooted it, it started fine. I didn't try to play the game again, but I was in my browser with a few tabs open and I had an installation going, and it shut off again.