grime

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2002
Ok, long time reader of Tom's, first time post. I'll start off by saying I am NOT a moron when it comes to computers. I've put numerous systems together. I am no expert, but certainly no novice by any means.

With that said, I purchased a P4 2.26GHz 533FSB retail CPU, Gigabyte GA-8IHXP i850E motherboard, and 512MB Kingston PC1066 RDRAM from Essential Computer (http://www.essencompu.com/). I have bought from them numerous times and ALWAYS have had an enjoyable experience from them. Good prices, fast shipping, and good customer service, although I have never had a problem with any of the items before.

Anyhow, I got my goodies, installed the motherboard into the case, put in the CPU, the fan, ram, video, etc...

No video at all. I try the video card in another system, it works; I try a new video card in the new system, still doesnt work. I try everything I can think of. I call Essential, get an RMA, and ship it all back.

Couple days later, I get a call from Essential. They say I must have installed the cpu wrong (I've installed a million CPUs..i know how its done) and pin 1 fried the cpu. cpu is dead. more bad news: the pin from the cpu broke and its in the motherboard and they cant get it out. They wont replace either item as it's because of my fault and not a manufacturer defect. We go around and around, I talk to several people there, and no go. The items are currently in transit back to me.

Essential said I need to go through Intel and Gigabyte to get RMAs directly and hopefully get my stuff replaced through them. I can't get any further with Essential.