Sign in with
Your question

degraded RAID 1 array!

Last response: in Storage
July 25, 2004 1:50:39 AM

I built a system about 3 weeks ago, and now I'm getting a degraded array warning. How do I fix this? Why would this happen so quickly? Is there a hardware problem somewhere?

I have a VNF3-250 motherboard with 2 WD 800JB drives in a serial RAID 1 array. I have the most recent drivers I could find at the time of installation.

One element of note - I got this system up and running initially, then decided to wipe it clean and do it again to tweak a few things, and I had just received a degraded array message when I redid the whole process. Is this indicative of a bad drive, motherboard, or what exactly? I'm new to RAID. I also don't know how to rebuild it to preserve my data. I messed with it the first go round (before the second clean install) but it made both inaccessible. I'm sure it was my fault, but I'd like to know the right way to go about fixing this.

Thanks all.

<font color=purple> Do <i> you </i> have a chicken hat? </font color=purple>

More about : degraded raid array

July 25, 2004 5:48:44 AM

It is likely that the message you are receiving is being issued by the RAID software that you are using.

From your post it was unclear whether you were actually using the RAID controller on the motherboard, or if you were using Windows to achieve RAID?

I would presume, you are using the onboard RAID controller.

Generally, any message in RAID talking about "degraded" or "critical" situations often is referring to one, or more, drives being inaccessible.

This could be the result of an actual physical drive going down, a drive temporarily being not communicating properly, or even a routine drive check determining the data on the drive is NOT what was expected.

Since, again I am presuming, the drives that you are using are relatively new it is likely that the problem is temporary and NOT permanent.