jim552

Distinguished
May 1, 2003
I have NO knowledge specifically of this particular one so will ONLY reference generalities towards this concept.

Creating an external intelligent storage subsystem that attaches to a main system VIA a disk, network, or some channel interface has been used for decades.

Conceptually this does what subsystems in computers have always done. It segregates out a group of operations and provides access to these operations through an interface so that much of it's intracacies are handled by local intelligence. (Initially, intelligent serial controllers through ISA/PCI, many Ethernet controllers, Graphic cards through AGP etc.)

After all, a file server doesn't truly need to care about how data is stored, or where it resides, it really only needs to have what appears like a physical drive, and how to interface to it.

Once only available in the realm of large systems, and only using proprietary interfaces between the storage subsystem and the server, this concept/technology eventually migrated into SCSI based systems, then into IDE systems, and more recently into SATA systems.

The two most common terms that describe storage subsystems are "SAN", and "NAS". ("SAN" is generally connected through a Fiber channel to a server, and "NAS" is connected through a standard networking hardware/software transport.)

As is the case of technology in general, storage subsystems are become less expensive and more available to "average people" rather than being ONLY feasible for "large corporations".

In a good general purpose configuration I would consider the following to be true:

1 - The subsystem attaches to the computer through
a standard interface, and the volumes created
appear as standard drives to the server.
(SATA in this case.)

2 - The subsystem uses standard interfaces for the
individual drives. (SCSI in this case.)

3 - The subsystem provides for online hot swapping of
drives.

4 - The subsystem provides for online hot swapping of