ide or sata drive

tennen

Distinguished
May 25, 2003
I am a relly noob in this hardrivetech thing..
I know I have an Ide drive installed right now and thinking of getting an other HD.

#1 wich is the best. IDE drives or Serial ATA?
What is the big differens?

#2 Is it possible to have one IDE drive and one SATA drive installed at the same time?

#3 If #2 not works. Can I use my IDE drive in the SATA channel in someway?

#4 Can you recommend a fast, quiet, 200GB, cheap HD?

Thanks in advance

blah

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
1. depends on yer preference
connection type
2. yes
3. no
4. even though fast and cheap don't mix, Seagate is the way to go for quiet.

welcome in advance

..this is very useful and helpful place for information...

khha4113

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
#3 If #2 not works. Can I use my IDE drive in the SATA channel in someway?
Actually, you can, with <b><A HREF="http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-999-111&depa=1" target="_new"><font color=red>ATA-to-Serial ATA Converter adapter</A></b></font color=red>.

:smile: Good or Bad have no meaning at all, depends on what your point of view is.

BeyRevRa

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2004
Everyone seems to be moving more towards SATA, I think for someone who is "new" IDE would be better as it doesn't require F6ing the drivers.

AMD 64 3400+
MSI K8N Neo Platinum
1 GB Kingston HyperX PC3200
ATI AIW 9600XT
WD Raptor 74GB

tennen

Distinguished
May 25, 2003
Ok, but driver wouldn't be an issue to me.
Is one of them faster than the other? Or is it just the space the cables takes that makes the diff??

The SATA is supposedly a little faster. SATA is capable of transfering 150 MB/s, while ATA100 drives are capable of 100 MB/s. The problem is that the hard drives really can't take advantage of this, they just can't read/write this fast. Last time I saw stats they don't use half of that "bandwidth"