Sign in with
Your question

The Perfect LCD?

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
December 26, 2006 2:21:16 PM

Greetings,

I've been trying for a while to find the perfect LCD monitor, and I've had no luck so far. I've just unpacked the ViewSonic VP930b which I purchased based on recommendations on this site, and I'm not entirely thrilled. The backlight bleeds through a bit on black screens, and there's some ghosting in games.

I'm a grad student, so I spend a lot of time in front of the computer doing things in office applications. I can't deal with the ultra-tiny text displayed by the vast widescreen LCDs with huge resolutions. Working at 1280 x 1024 is actually a bit of a stretch, I can see eyestrain in my future, but I suppose that's unavoidable. I play a few games, mostly MMOs, so I know I need a good response time. And I'm beginning to get into digital photography, so color fidelity is important. Brightness can also be a problem, I've noticed that some LCDs are so bright you can get a sunburn working with a word processor (all that white light).

So... any suggestions? I'll try nearly anything at this point. I'll go as high as $500US (though I'd like to keep it lower) if need be, maybe even higher if it would truly get me an absolutely perfect monitor.

I'd greatly appreciate any assistance. Thanks!

EDIT: I almost forgot, it also has to be stable. The VP930b wobbles when I type. Being seasick won't help me work. :) 

More about : perfect lcd

December 26, 2006 4:26:04 PM

Quote:
Greetings,

I've been trying for a while to find the perfect LCD monitor, and I've had no luck so far. I've just unpacked the ViewSonic VP930b which I purchased based on recommendations on this site, and I'm not entirely thrilled. The backlight bleeds through a bit on black screens, and there's some ghosting in games.