Tablet vs. Netbook

metalloid

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2011
Hi, I am an undergrad in NYC, and I was faced with a dilemma as to
which one I should get: a netbook or a tablet. I just thought it would make
my time spent on the train and the school useful if I buy or rent all my textbooks
online and store them in the mobile computer. That way, I would be able to study
on the train and be able carry all my school stuff, textbook, and gym gears at the
same time. Also, it would definitely help wherever I am going to study, from house
to parent's place to school to gym.

I just would like to get opinion on which I should get. My budget is pretty low, and
I would like to spend no more than approximately $500. I thought tablet would be
better since wi-fi zones are almost anywhere and you don't wanna deal with whole
weight and volume of keyboard on the train where you might end up standing up.
However, I never used both devices, so I would like to get prospectives from experts
or users of these devices. Any ideas would be helpful. Thank you!

P.S. can you specify what kind of tablet or netbook I should get for those purposes?
Also, tasblet wise, I don't know if I should wait or just go ahead buy one now with
all the talks about Windows 8 and Trinity and such.

Solution
Yeah, I think if you're going to be doing any real "work" on the device, you're 100% better off with a netbook than a tablet (for the reasons I mentioned above). This one is a decent choice for the $300 price point: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834230361 I've heard decent things about the newer dual core + hyperthreading Intel Atom CPUs (2 core, 4 thread).