Sign in with
Your question

Monitor cabling types / advice needed please

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
May 18, 2005 10:33:46 AM

Hello there

I have an old Iiyama Visionmaster Pro 21" monitor. I've had it for around 7 years and always been totally happy with it and have no plans to replace it. It has d-sub and bnc inputs.

I have recently purchased a 6800GT graphics card and connected it to this monitor with a s-dub extention cable as my monitor is just a little bit too far from my pc to use the standard cable. Now though I've got ghosting on my screen. I've not really noticed it before with my old graphics card (a ti4600) but can't swap back to check because it died (hence my upgrade).

My question(s) - do you think it could be a dodgy graphics card causing the ghosting? Could a 6800gt be more susceptible to bad cabling (ie a cheap extension cable) than a ti4600?

I've just got a bit more interested in image quality and all since I bought my new graphics card - I want everything to be perfect. When trying to fix the ghosting I reset my monitor to factory default settings - wow, what a revelation - the colours suddenly were 10 times more vibrant and the screen looked soooo much better - I've obviously had a play in the past and screwed up the settings and not really noticed. That's what has got me interested in trying to get things better.

So, another question. If I ditch my dodgy monitor extension cable and buy a decent shielded one (if people think that could be what's causing the ghosting) should I stick with standard d-sub? My graphics card has a dvi output so I could go for a dvi to d-sub or dvi to bnc. Is there any point in doing this?