Tags:
  • Article Discussions
  • Sony
  • Ebook
  • Tom's Guide
  • Product
Last response: in Tom's Guide
January 24, 2007 3:05:37 PM

Not too many reviewers have seen Sony's PRS-500 eBook Reader. Among those who have the consensus isn't all that positive. Our Barry Gerber disagrees with the naysayers.

More about : sony ebook reader real winner

January 24, 2007 4:02:31 PM

I have been using this reader since November, 2006. I love the hardware. I pre-ordered it back in September, 2006. Its a pleasure to read from it when travelling. I don't have to charge it for a week. This is really helpful during travel.

Almost all the PDF files are in 8.5X11 inch (A4) format. Unfortunately they can't be reflowed to 5.24 X 6.69 inch format. It is possible to use a Word template with 5.24 X 6.69 inch format. I have been using this technique to read Word documents on eBook reader.

Sony will sell more hardware if it collaborates with mainstream online book sellers like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Safari.

I'm an engineer and its hard to find relevant titles in Connect online store.

Maybe Sony is trying Apple's business model of iPod and iTunes combo to make zillions.

My best guess is that Sony is running some form of proprietary OS on eBook reader. It would be great if someone writes a flavor of Linux for this eBook reader. I would like to collaborate with like minded individuals.

Once we have worked on
(1) Open source the OS on eBook reader
(2) Automate reflow of PDF to 5.24 X 6.69 inch format

it would become even more popular. Maybe in next generation of this device Sony will work on these needs or Open source community will come forward.
January 24, 2007 10:21:05 PM

I do not own a Sony EBook Reader but am quite intrigued by the technology.