Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help with Crashing and BSOD

Last response: in Windows 7
September 4, 2012 7:41:09 PM

Hi everyone,

This is my first time here and I hope I am posting my question in the correct place in the forum, if not I apologize in advance.
I built this new computer 2 months ago and I have been experiencing some issues with it since then, I already searched alot in the net to see if I could figure out what's wrong but no luck as of now.

The Problem: I get Blue screens whenever I am playing Battlefield 3, Crysis 2 and Max Payne 3, if not a blue screen the games crash to the desktop. The computer works perfectly fine though when I am working with it, using Photoshop, Illustrator, watching movies or listening to music all at the same time. The only game I play without problems is Diablo 3, it's never crashed so far. I already ran many tests and tried many fixes but I am willing to start over since I am asking for help here.

I am not sure if my build will come up in my profile yet so I will write it down here too:

ASUS Sabertooth z77
i5 3550 at stock speeds
2x 4gb corsair, I set it at XMP in the bios so it's running at its sold speed of 2000 MHz
GTX 580 at stock speeds
SSD Corsair Force series 3 120GB for windows 7 64bits(fully updated)
HDD Seagate 1tb for storage
PSU Corsair TX850M

The blue screens errors vary, IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL, MEMORY_MANAGEMENT, and one pointing to a nvidia driver file.
The temps of vga is at 70 celcius under full load and cpu at 45 celcius under full load. All drivers are updated and so is the BIOS.

Thanks in advance for any help I can get!

More about : crashing bsod

a b $ Windows 7
September 4, 2012 7:47:10 PM

What model of memory do you have?

Does the XMP your running match the timings and voltage listed on the dimms?

2000 mhz really isn't supported, have you tried 1800 or 1600?
September 4, 2012 8:09:32 PM

sounds like your gDDR chips on the graphics card is overheating. what type of cooler is it?